A minor is a small grouping of courses recognized formally by the college. At Wheaton, the minor requires a minimum of five courses, of which at least one must be at the 300-level. Minors are optional and not required for graduation.

Should you have a minor? Like the major, the minor may be taken to support a specific academic or career goal, complement a major, or simply to pursue a field of interest. However, students may find that their course schedules are less flexible as a result of pursuing a minor.

Most academic departments with majors also offer minor concentrations in the same field. However, some minors are in specialized areas of study, such as:

  • Astronomy
  • Development Studies
  • Economic Theory
  • Education (early childhood, elementary, secondary)
  • Environmental Studies
  • International Economy
  • Journalism
  • Latin American Studies
  • Legal Studies
  • Management
  • Peace and Social Justice
  • Public Policy Studies
  • Urban Studies

For a complete list of minors, please visit our Program Finder.