Wheaton College Norton, Massachusetts

About Scott Dietz

Scott Dietz is Assistant Director of Athletics for Media Relations.

Synchro swimmer in deep competition

Laura Montes '10Since 2004, synchronized swimmer Laura Montes ’10 and duet partner Nilda Rosado have trained and competed every year hoping to represent the Puerto Rican synchronized swimming national team at the Central American and Caribbean Games. The patience and strong work ethic have paid off. Montes and her partner were selected to compete at the 2010 games this summer.

After working for six years to get into the games, when she received word last November she was ecstatic. “It definitely was a dream of ours,” said Montes, who swam at Wheaton for four years. “Even through the challenges of attending college and trying to do well academically, we found a way to ensure we were doing our part and kept fighting until we were selected.

“It’s been such a dream because this national team is different from the seven others I have been part of. This meet is a qualifying meet for the current Olympic cycle. We have a very realistic chance to qualify for the Pan American Games next summer. If we qualify for the Pan American, we are one step closer in qualifying for the Olympics.

[Read more...]



Jeffrey Lieneck '10

Jeffrey Lieneck '10

Advancing to their ninth NCAA Tournament, the Lyons captured their 11th NEWMAC regular season championship and 10th league tournament title. Wheaton notched its sixth consecutive 30-win season, going 34–10 overall and 11–1 in the NEWMAC. Jonathan Shepard ’10 and Nolan Corr ’12 earned D3baseball.com All-America honors, and the pair joined Daniel Haugh ’12 in picking up all-region accolades, with Corr being named New England Intercollegiate Baseball Association (NEIBA) Co-Pitcher of the Year. Shepard and Jeffrey Lieneck ’10 were selected to play in the NEIBA All-Star game, while Corr, Haugh, Paul Malaguti ’10, Sean Munley ’11 and Sean Ryan ’13 were voted to all-conference teams. Haugh was named NEWMAC Player of the Year, Ryan NEWMAC Rookie of the Year and Eric Podbelski, who nabbed his 400th win at the school, was selected NEWMAC Coach of the Year.

[Read more...]