Wheaton College Norton, Massachusetts
Wheaton College
Office of the Provost


Faculty Committees

All faculty should be aware of the functions of the many faculty committees, both to appreciate the scope and reach of faculty involvement in the workings of the college and to learn of the resources available to the faculty and their students.

There are ten standing committees of the faculty, and they are, in the order of their election: Tenure, Provost's Advisory, Committee on Committees and Agenda, Advisory, Educational Policy, Appeals and Hearing, Academic Standing, Faculty Scholarships and Promotions, Faculty Workload and Economic Status, and the Committee on Library, Technology, and Learning. The Annual Reports of the individual committees may be found via the links in the far right column.

The rules for the election of committee members and the charges to the committees can be found in the Section VIII of Faculty Legislation.  The Committee on Committees and Agenda (COCA) not only runs these elections but also makes the following information easily accessible from this site: current committee memberships, rules governing elections, upcoming committee vacancies, etc.  Please consult the COCA site for a full accounting of Wheaton's committee structures.

The Educational Policy Committee will maintain its own website as a rich resource for its workings. A detailed list of its many subcommittees and their functions, minutes of its meetings, and compilations of its policies will be available when the site goes live in the spring.

Outside of the formal structures of the twelve standing committees there are various ad hoc faculty committees.  A partial list of these committees and their membership will also be made available for consultation this spring.

Comments are closed.