Ten named academic all conference

Ten Wheaton student-athletes were named to the New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Academic All-Conference team for fall 2010. Student-athletes earning the award must maintain a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.5 or better upon completion of the 2010 spring semester, attain at least a sophomore year standing and be a competing member of a varsity team for the entire season.

The students are: Nicholas Kacher ’11 and Michael Richard ’13 (cross country); Taylor Wills ’12 and Lindsay Petrenchik ’13 (cross country); Pablo Mena ’12, Max Swanson ’12 and Jessica Stuart ’12 (soccer); Emily Davisson ’12 and Christina Cannon ’13 (volleyball); and Julia Atwood ’11 (field hockey).

NSCAA All-New England players

Yuri Moreira '11
Yuri Moreira ’11
David Ferriero '11
David Ferriero ’11

Men’s soccer team players David Ferriero ’11 and Yuri Moreira ’11 were named National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA)/Performance Subaru All-New England players for the second consecutive season.

Moreira was selected to the NSCAA All-New England East first team for the second straight year, while Ferriero was voted to the second squad. Moreira paced this year’s forwards with nine goals and four game-winners, while sharing the team lead with 20 points. He is the Wheaton program’s second all-time leading scorer with 44 goals and 96 points, and he has earned all-league honors for the third straight season.

Ferriero anchored a defense that finished first in the New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) in shutouts per game (.40) and tied for first in overall shutouts (8). He played an integral part on a unit that allowed one goal or less 14 times. He also is one of three Lyons in program history to garner all-conference first-team accolades three times.

Geocaris honored with Lindsay Morehouse Award

Sarah Geocaris '€™11Women’s tennis player Sarah Geocaris ’11 received the prestigious Lindsay Morehouse Award at the New England Women’s Intercollegiate Tennis Tournament (NEWITT) last fall.

The award acknowledges a senior player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship, friendliness, character, fair play and hard work that Lindsay Morehouse represented. A Class of 2000 Williams College graduate and standout women’s tennis player, Morehouse passed away during the tragic events of September 11, 2001.

In nominating Geocaris for the award, Wheaton head coach Lynn Miller noted the player’s outstanding leadership and her graciousness and humility in victory or defeat. Believed to be the winningest player in program history, the tri-captain has a combined 132 victories between singles and doubles matches.

Compiled from news stories by Scott Dietz.
Read the full stories at