Wheaton College Norton, Massachusetts
Wheaton College
Academic Advising


Wheaton College Graduate Fellowships

Wheaton College offers a number of graduate scholarships for current Wheaton seniors and, in some instances, graduates of the college. These scholarships are listed below.

Graduate Scholarships available to Current Wheaton Students and alumnae/i

Julia R. Lange Fellowship: Established in 1974 in memory of Julia R. Lange through a bequest from the estate of her daughter, Mathilde M. Lange, a member of the Biology and Zoology Departments from 1921 to 1949. This award provides several grants annually to Wheaton graduates for advanced study in the field of medicine or the biological sciences, with medicine receiving the first priority.

Joseph M. & Susan Stampler Paresky '68 Fellowship: Established in 1986 by Joseph M. Paresky and Susan Stampler Paresky, Class of 1968, member of the Wheaton College Board of Trustees. Fellowships are for graduate study in a degree granting program to the senior man and woman who have excelled academically, have made a significant contribution to the campus community and have demonstrated exceptional personal growth during four years at Wheaton.

Jane E. Ruby Fellowship: Established in 1978 by alumnae and friends in honor of Professor Ruby, a member of the History Department from 1954 to 1976, and Provost from 1976 to 1978. Provides support to a graduating senior or Wheaton graduate to begin, continue or resume professional or other advanced training.

Helen & Irma Wieand Fellowship: Established in 1961 by Professor Helen Wieand Cole, a member of the Classics Department from 1911 to 1915 and from 1918 to 1925, Trustee from 1936 to 1965 and second wife of President Samuel Valentine Cole. This award provides one to three scholarships each year to Wheaton graduates for further education in the humanities.

Phi Beta Kappa: The Wheaton Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa awards three scholarships yearly for graduate study, though not for professional schools. The amounts are between $4,000 and $5,000. Applicants do not need to be a member of Phi Beta Kappa in order to apply.

1) The Phi Beta Kappa Scholarship, which has been awarded annually since 1934, is open to current seniors and to any graduate entering the first or second year of study leading to a master’s or doctor’s degree.

2) The Ruth Redding Graduate Scholarship, honoring Ruth Redding, a member of the Class of 1934, is, like the Phi Beta Kappa scholarship, open to current seniors and to any graduate entering the first or second year of study leading to a master’s or doctor’s degree.

3) The Grace F. Shepard Phi Beta Kappa Scholarship, established in memory of Miss Grace F. Shepard, who taught English at Wheaton and for whom Shepard Court is named, is awarded only to a member of the graduating class. While preference is given to a student in Classical studies, all applicants to graduate school are encouraged to apply.

Comments are closed.