Honors Convocation 2024

The Honors Convocation ceremony, an annual celebration to acknowledge excellence in academic and intellectual pursuits, took place on Thursday, May 2, 2024, in the Cole Memorial Chapel.  President Whelan, Interim Provost Karen McCormack, and Dean of Students Darnell Parker presented the departmental and College awards to students who have distinguished themselves as scholars and academic citizens of Wheaton College. Jani Benoit, Professor of Chemistry, delivered the keynote address, “Sustainability: Diverse Wisdom for a Common Goal.” Rachel Hickey, Class of ’24 Chair, presented the Senior Class Faculty Appreciation Award to Christopher Kotyk, Associate Professor of Chemistry. In addition, Interim Provost Karen McCormack announced that the recipient of this year’s Frances A. Shirley Endowed Professorship is Michael Drout, Professor of English, and the recipient of the Hannah Goldberg Chair in Teaching Innovation is Dana Polanichka, Professor of History.

For more information, please contact the Office of the Provost at [email protected].

Honors Convocation 2024 Program (pdf)