Graduate application deadline:  12:30 p.m., April 2, 2018

Application will be opened by March 1, 2018.

Julia R.Lange Fellowship:
Established in 1974 in memory of Julia R. Lange through a bequest from the estate of her daughter, Mathilde M. Lange, a member of the Biology and Zoology Departments from 1921 to 1949. This grant is open the current seniors and any Wheaton graduate for advanced study in the field of medicine or the biological sciences, with medicine receiving the first priority.

Joseph M. & Susan Stampler Paresky ’68 Fellowship:
Established in 1986 by Joseph M. Paresky and Susan Stampler Paresky, Class of 1968, member of the Wheaton College Board of Trustees. This Grant is open to current seniors for graduate study in a degree granting program.  Applicant must have excelled academically, have made a significant contribution to the campus community and have demonstrated exceptional personal growth during four years at Wheaton.

Jane E. Ruby Fellowship:
Established in 1978 by alumnae and friends in honor of Professor Ruby, a member of the History Department from 1954 to 1976, and Provost from 1976 to 1978. Provides support to a current senior or Wheaton graduate to begin, continue or resume professional or other advanced training.

Helen & Irma Wieand Fellowship:
Established in 1961 by Professor Helen Wieand Cole, a member of the Classics Department from 1911 to 1915 and from 1918 to 1925, Trustee from 1936 to 1965 and second wife of President Samuel Valentine Cole. This grant is open to current seniors and any Wheaton graduate who is pursuing a post-graduate education in the humanities. Examples of classes commonly listed in humanities departments include the classics, modern languages, history, philosophy, religion, the arts and literature. Social sciences (such as anthropology) also can be included.

Zuriff Fellowship:
In honor of Jerry Zuriff, retired member of the Psychology Department. This grant is open to current seniors majoring in Psychology.

Phi Beta Kappa:
The Wheaton Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa awards 3 scholarships yearly for graduate study, though not for MSW, JD, MD, PsyD. The amounts are between $4,000 and $5,000. Applicants do not need to be a member of Phi Beta Kappa in order to apply.

  1. The Phi Beta Kappa Scholarship, which has been awarded annually since 1934, is open to current seniors and to any graduate entering the first or second year of study leading to a master’s or doctor’s degree.
  2. The Ruth Redding Graduate Scholarship, honoring Ruth Redding, a member of the Class of 1934, is, like the Phi Beta Kappa scholarship, open to current seniors and to any graduate entering the first or second year of study leading to a master’s or doctor’s degree.
  3. The Grace F. Shepard Phi Beta Kappa Scholarship, established in memory of Miss Grace F. Shepard, who taught English at Wheaton and for whom Shepard Court is named, is awarded only to a member of the graduating class. While preference is given to a student in Classical studies, all applicants to graduate school are encouraged to apply

Please be sure you are applying for grad school in the fall before submitting an applicaton.  If you are delaying your education for a year, you may apply in the following year.

Please contact Dean Alex Trayford with questions.

Related Resources


Recommendations should be sent to:  Dean Alex Trayford