Each spring we gather together as a community to honor our many student leaders. Students are nominated by fellow classmates, staff, and faculty for twelve leadership awards that celebrate our history and recognize student leadership in all its forms. Leadership is a journey taken by many Wheaton students; leadership happens in Student Government, within student clubs and organizations, in the residence halls, on the athletic fields, and in the classrooms.

The Process

A Student Selection Committee will convene to review all the nominations. The student committee will narrow down a small group of finalists for each award. These finalists will be contacted and asked for their resume and letter of reference. The Leadership Awards Committee of staff and faculty will then review the finalist materials and select a recipient for each award. Finalists and recipients are recognized at our annual Leadership Awards Ceremony.

See Award Descriptions

2024 Recipients

The Eunice Caldwell Leadership Award
“Outstanding Sophomore”
Ben Lyon ’26

The Horizon First-Year Leadership Award
“First-Year to Watch”
Meher Narang ’27

The Caroline Cutler Metcalf Leadership Award
“Leading Student-Athlete”
Emma Lapreziosa ’24

The Eleanor Augusta Norcross Leadership Award
“Leader in the Arts”
Emily Thomas ’24

The Emily Susan Hartwell Leadership Award
“Leader in Social, Political, or Global Awareness”
Tim Curran ’24

The Ruth Capers McKay Leadership Award
“Junior/Senior Campus Leader”
Darin Sweet ’25

The Wheaton Ujima Leadership Award
“Leader in Intercultural Engagement”
Catherine Le ’24

The Patricia King Leadership Award
“1st Year/Sophomore Leader in Campus Activities”
Ritika Das ’26

The Landmark Leadership Award
“Leader in Gender Equity & Collaboration”
Michellet Rojas-Brand ’25

The Richard & Virginia Thornburgh Leadership Award
“Leader in Community Service”
Jema Espinosa ’25

The Eliza Baylies Wheaton Leadership Award
“Innovative Leader”
Samantha Benegas ’25

The Helene Pruszynski Leadership Award
“Outstanding Senior”
Jolie Gagnon ’24

Lyons Pride Award Recipients 2024
Lyons Pride Awards are given by the Dean of Students to members of the senior class in special recognition of their service/ leadership and dedication to enhancing the Wheaton community.

Diana Blake
Kyra Conover
Ariel Ferreira
Rachel Hickey
Meghan Lambert
Julianne Morse
Aaliya Mulla
Finn Towle
Diane Tran
Jordan Wilson
Renina Wynn