Wheaton College Norton, Massachusetts
Wheaton College
Academic Advising



American Graduate Fellowships
Deadline: October 15

This initiative is designed to promote and support doctoral study in the humanities by accomplished graduates of small and mid-sized private liberal arts colleges. Two fellowships, worth up to $50,000 each and renewable for a second year, will be awarded annually through 2011. The fellowships will be available to students from eligible institutions who enroll in doctoral programs at any of 23 leading independent research universities in the United States, Great Britain, and Ireland. Eligible fields of study include history, philosophy, literature and languages, and fine arts. AGF Brochure and Guidelines

American School of Classical Studies (ASCSA)

Deadline: Most are January 15 (see website)

The American School of Classical Studies at Athens, founded in 1881, is the principal resource in Greece for American scholars conducting advanced research on the language, literature, art, history, archaeology, and philosophy of Greece and the Greek world from pre-Hellenic times to the present. Each year the School, its programs, and its facilities welcome some 400 graduate students and scholars from over 160 affiliated North American colleges and universities. The web site describes the various fellowship programs offered.

American Classical League
Deadline: Varies depending on the Scholarship. Most are January 15

Website Describes the following scholarships:
- Arthur Patch McKinlay Scholarship
- Ed Phinney Commemorative Scholarship
- Glenn Knudsvig Memorial Scholarship
- Maureen O'Donnell Scholarship

General restrictions and eligibility requirements applicable to all scholarships:
-Teacher of Classics at the elementary through secondary level

-Undergraduate or graduate classics major planning to teach at the elementary through college level

-Previous winners may compete again for the same award in the fourth year after the original award

Comments are closed.