Jeffrey Lieneck '10
Jeffrey Lieneck ’10

Advancing to their ninth NCAA Tournament, the Lyons captured their 11th NEWMAC regular season championship and 10th league tournament title. Wheaton notched its sixth consecutive 30-win season, going 34–10 overall and 11–1 in the NEWMAC. Jonathan Shepard ’10 and Nolan Corr ’12 earned All-America honors, and the pair joined Daniel Haugh ’12 in picking up all-region accolades, with Corr being named New England Intercollegiate Baseball Association (NEIBA) Co-Pitcher of the Year. Shepard and Jeffrey Lieneck ’10 were selected to play in the NEIBA All-Star game, while Corr, Haugh, Paul Malaguti ’10, Sean Munley ’11 and Sean Ryan ’13 were voted to all-conference teams. Haugh was named NEWMAC Player of the Year, Ryan NEWMAC Rookie of the Year and Eric Podbelski, who nabbed his 400th win at the school, was selected NEWMAC Coach of the Year.

Men’s lacrosse

Men's LacrosseWheaton reached the Pilgrim League Tournament championship game for the third straight season, as the Lyons posted an 8–8 record. The Blue and White finished with at least eight wins for the third consecutive season for the first time since 1996. Wheaton also went 5–2 in the Pilgrim League. Benjamin Cederberg ’11 became the first player in program history to earn an all-league accolade three times. Andrew Schaffer ’10, Christopher Landers ’11 and William McNamara ’12 also made all-conference teams.

Women’s lacrosse

Hailey Colburn '12
Hailey Colburn ’12

The Lyons completed the spring with a 5–11 overall record, having faced four teams that finished the year nationally ranked. Suffering five losses by four goals or less, Wheaton also went 2–4 in NEWMAC play before falling in the opening round of the conference tournament. Hailey Colburn ’12 became the first player since 2006 to draw all-region honors. She, Marianna Marcellino ’11 and Brittany Whynot ’12 each landed on an all-league team.


Wheaton won 11 of its first 12 games in Florida before returning north to face some of the region’s best. Having lost four games by a single run, the Lyons finished the spring at 20–18 overall and 8–8 in the NEWMAC, as Wheaton qualified for the conference tournament for the 22nd time in 23 seasons. Katy Salka ’11 earned the first all-league accolade of her career.

Men’s tennis

Winners in 11 of 12 matches during one stretch, Wheaton began the year just 2–2 before advancing to the NEWMAC Tournament championship match for the fifth time. The Lyons went 14–5 overall, including winning all seven home matches, while posting a 4–1 conference mark. James Little ’10 and Harry Altman ’11 received all-league singles and doubles awards, while Kyle Hudgins ’11, Brian Krantz ’11 and Gregory Poulin ’11 also garnered all-conference laurels. Lynn Miller was named NEWMAC Coach of the Year.

Men’s and women’s outdoor track & field

Cecil Jeffrey '13
Cecil Jeffrey ’13

The Lyon men accomplished what no other Wheaton track & field team had ever achieved at an NCAA Championship, capturing national titles in multiple relays. Posting its highest team placement since 2002, the men tied for fifth. Entering the meet, only four Lyons had ever claimed a national championship. Merzudin Ibric ’10 ran legs of each relay, joining Mark Cimino ’11, Raiyan Banaji ’11 and Cailean Robinson ’12 on the school-record 4x100M team, and Mark Williamson ’11, Cecil Jeffrey ’13 and Benjamin Miklovich ’13 on the 4x400M squad. Robinson also earned an All-America placement in the 100M dash, while Jeffrey was voted NEWMAC Rookie of the Year after helping lead the Lyons to fourth place. The women took fifth at the conference championship, as the teams combined for 13 all-league marks. Didine Jusme ’12 competed in two events at the NCAA Championship.

Didine Jusme '12
Didine Jusme ’12