Go Beyond

Generosity multiplies. The early successes of Go Beyond: Campaign for Wheaton are inspiring the entire community to rally in support of the college and its students. The campaign’s total now stands at $90 million, thanks to the outstanding generosity of alumnae/i, parents and friends. We’re well on our way to Wheaton’s $120 million goal.

Progress in numbers

Science center:

-$33.8 million committed to expanding and enhancing science facilities through the Mars Center for Science and Technology.
Goal: $35 million.

Student scholarships:

$27.6 million committed to increasing scholarship support for Wheaton students and their families.
Goal: $50.6 million.

Annual support:

$3.2 million contributed to the Wheaton Fund, with growing participation by alumnae/i, parents and friends.
Goal: $4.1 million by June 30, 2011

Scientific dedication

Formal opening of Mars Center slated for Sept. 23, 2011

Classes were done, grades were in, and the boxes came out.

Immediately after Commencement in May, faculty in the science center traded in their robes and academic regalia for work clothes to pack up their offices, classrooms and labs to move into the new Mars Center for Science and Technology, which is scheduled to open for classes at the start of the fall semester.

The college plans to celebrate the opening of the state-of-the-art, $42 million facility on Friday, Sept. 23, 2011, in connection with the start of Homecoming and Family Weekend, which will run through Sunday, September 25.

In addition to the ribbon-cutting and applause, the festivities will include tours of the new building’s classrooms, teaching and research laboratories, greenhouse and observatory. Look for more information about the celebration and the rest of the weekend at https://wheatoncollege.edu/homecoming.

Pictured above: The south side of the Mars Center for Science and Technology takes advantage of the sun’s warmth.

Photo / Nicki Pardo


Campaign leadership

  • Kenneth Babby ’02
  • Nancy Pearlstine Conger ’67, co-chair
  • Deborah Haigh Dluhy ’62
  • Debra Kent Glidden ’68, co-chair
  • Thomas Hollister, co-chair
  • Margaret Dunn Smith ’73