2014 Honorary degree recipients
2014 Honorary degree recipients

At the 179th Commencement, six individuals were conferred honorary degrees. A presenter from the Wheaton community read a citation for each honoree, and remarks were offered after the conferring of the degree. Below are links to all the citations and remarks.

ir3jYGeaaTCYDoctor of Laws
Karen Strauss Cook ’74 (Posthumously)
Citation presented to Everett Cook and sons by Janet L. Lebovitz ’72, Trustee
Remarks by Everett Cook


Jonathan Kadane Crane ’95 Doctor of Letters
Jonathan Kadane Crane ’95
Citation presented by Nancy Pearlstine Conger ’67, Vice Chair, Board of Trustees


Mary Anne Marsh ’79 delivering her remarks to the audience.Doctor of Laws
Mary Anne Marsh ’79
Citation presented by Diane C. Nordin ’80, Trustee


Anne-Imelda Radice '69 accepts her honorary Doctor of Fine Arts on behalf of her parents. Doctor of Fine Arts
Anne-Imelda Radice ’69
Citation presented by Deborah H. Dluhy ’62, Trustee Emerita


Johnnetta Betsch Cole, director of the Smithsonian's National Museum of African Art, delivers the 2014 keynote speechDoctor of Humane Letters
Johnnetta Betsch Cole
Citation presented by Ronald A. Crutcher, President
Keynote address


Ronald A. Crutcher

Doctor of Laws
Ronald A. Crutcher, President
Citation presented by Thomas J. Hollister, Chair, Board of Trustees
Remarks – Charge to the Class of 2014

Related Links