A. Patrick Charnon Scholarship
Deadline: Applications accepted January 15 – August 1

Full-time undergraduate students enrolled in a four-year college in the U.S. Each scholarship carries a stipend of $1,500 per academic year. Recipients may re-apply each year for up to four years, provided they continue to meet the requirements of the award.

American Association for University Women – International Fellowships
Deadline: December 1

International Fellowships are awarded for full-time study or research in the United States to women who are not United States citizens or permanent residents. Both graduate and postgraduate study at accredited institutions are supported. Several of fellowships are available for study outside of the U.S. for members of the International Federation of University women.

Master’s/Professional Fellowship: $18,000
Doctorate Fellowship: $20,000
Postdoctoral Fellowship: $30,000

American Scandinavian Foundation
Deadline: Varies, see website

Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway or Sweden citizens for study or research programs (usually at the graduate level) in the United States for up to one year. Awards are made in all fields.

The ASF’s award program for study and research abroad has been the Foundation’s most long-standing commitment to educational exchange. During the past 94 years, over 3,800 fellowships and grants have been given to Americans and Scandinavians engaged in study or research projects. In 2007, 80 students, professionals and artists were provided over $750,000 in total funding.

Asian Development Bank (ADB) – Japan Scholarship Program
Deadline: 6 months prior to entended period of study

Citizens of ADB’s developing member countries to pursue postgraduate studies in economics, management, science and technology, and other development-related fields at participating academic institutions in the Asian and Pacific Region. The ADB-JSP provides full scholarships for one to two years.
The ADB-JSP provides full tuition fees, a monthly subsistence and housing allowance, an allowance for books and instructional materials, medical insurance, and travel expenses. The maximum duration of scholarship award is two years for masters and doctorate programs.
Developing member countries

Asian Cultural Council
Deadline: January 15

The Asian Cultural Council supports cultural exchange between Asia and the United States in the performing and visual arts, primarily by providing individual fellowship grants to artists, scholars, students, and specialists from Asia for study, research, travel and creative work in the United States. In addition, the Council awards a small number of grants in support of regional exchange activities within Asia.

Grants are made in the following fields: archaeology, architecture (design, theory, and history), art history, art and architectural conservation, crafts, dance, film, museology, music, painting, photography, printmaking, sculpture, theater, and video.

Canon Collins Educational Trust
Deadline: United Kingdom: March 15; Southern Africa: August 12

Full scholarship for nationals from Southern African countries South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Swaziland, Lesotho, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Malawi, Angola and Mozambique) who wish to pursue a postgraduate degree (normally a one year Master’s degree) in either the United Kingdom or southern Africa.

Eurasian Undergraduate Exchange Program (UGRAD)
Deadline: November

Fellowships to first-, second-, and third-year undergraduate students from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan. This program supports one year of non-degree undergraduate study in the United States in the fields of accounting, agriculture, American studies, business, computer science, criminal justice, economics, education, environmental management, hospitality management, international relations, journalism and mass communication, law, political science, psychology, and sociology.

Joint Japan/World Bank Graduate Scholarship Regular Program
Deadline: March 31

For individuals from World Bank member countries to undertake graduate studies at any university located in a World Bank member country except their own. Suggested fields of study: economics, public administration, finance, planning, health, population, agriculture, infrastructure, information systems and aquatic resources (provided that the focus of study is on public policy aspects of these fields), environment and natural resource management, education, and other development-related subjects.

King Faisal Foundation Scholarship
Deadline: This scholarship is redesigned

Since 1981, KFF began awarding scholarships to outstanding Muslim students to undertake their postgraduate studies in science, medicine and engineering. KFF Scholarships were tenable at all prestigious European, American and Canadian universities, as well as universities in New Zealand, Australia, and other industrially advanced countries.

Nelson Mandela Scholarships
Deadline: mid November

Up to 14 scholarships offered for disadvantaged South African students to pursue post graduate study in the United Kingdom.

The scholarship wishes to recognize the dedication, determination and drive of previously disadvantaged graduates, by giving them the opportunity to undertake a year of post-graduate study at one of the best universities in the United Kingdom. We believe that exposure to the diverse spectrum of cultures will challenge, motivate and rapidly develop the leadership potential of our scholars.

Olive W. Garvey Fellowships Biennial award to outstanding college students around the world through a competitive essay contest on the meaning and significance of economic and personal liberty.
Awards range from $1,000 – $2,500.
Deadline: May

Organization of American States (OAS) Fellowships
Deadline: Varies, see website

The objective of the Organization of American States (OAS) Program of Scholarships and Training is to assist the member states with their domestic efforts in pursuit of integral development goals by supporting human resource development in the priority areas established by the Summits of the Americas, the Strategic Plan for Partnership for Integral Development of the Inter-American Council for Integral Development (CIDI), and the OAS General Assembly.

South Pacific and East Timor Scholarship Programs
Deadline: Varies, see website

The website has a number of fellowships and scholarships for citizens of South Pacific nations and East Timor. Scholarships are awarded for undergraduate degree study. Priority is given to applicants seeking degrees that address national development needs.

UNESCO/Keizo Obuchi Fellowships

Young researchers with advanced degrees (M.A., M.Sc. or equivalent) from developing countries majoring in one of four areas: environment, intercultural dialogue, information and communication technologies, and peaceful conflict resolution.

Winston Foundation for World Peace Fellowships
Support undergraduate and graduate students with an interest in cooperative security, conflict resolution, and disarmament. Fellows design their own projects, usually involving public education, media outreach, grassroots organizing, or another active approach to issues of cooperative security, nuclear arms control, conventional arms transfers, demilitarization, democracy building, conflict resolution, and the like. Applicants are expected to work full-time with a non-profit organization. A $300/week stipend is provided for the duration of the project, which lasts from 2-4 months. Information and application materials, contact:

or write:
Winston Foundation Fellowships
2040 S Street NW, Suite 201
Washington, DC 20009-1157
Phone: 202-483-4215.