Established in 2010 by the Department of Philosophy, classmates, and friends, the Tania Richards Sicard ’05 Memorial Prize in Philosophy is awarded at Honors Convocation each spring to a student “who engages with faculty, other students and course work in a way that demonstrates exuberance for the subject of Philosophy.”  Tania was a vivacious, spirited, and thoughtful young woman who brought great joy and enthusiasm to her study of Philosophy.


Past Award Recipients
Year Recipient(s)
2021 Maggie Lawless ’21
2020 Yixi Zhou ’20
2019 Austin Smith ’19
2018 Lucas Rosa ’18
2017 Gabriella Hulsey ’18
2016 Heather Fang ’17
2015 Jonathan Gerkin ’15
2014 Clare Prober ’16
2013 Morgan Kennedy ’13
2012 Phil Hamilton ’12
Christopher Speth ’12
2011 Elana Weiner ’11



Celebration of Tania Richards Sicard
May 2015

Several members of the Class of 2005 gathered at Tania’s tree during their 10 Year Reunion to honor and remember their remarkable friend.