Awarded by the Department of History to a graduating senior for outstanding performance in History or American Studies during his/her college career, in honor of Nancy P. Norton, a distinguished member of the Wheaton College History Department from 1953 until her retirement in 1986.  In 1993, the prize was endowed by Stephany Roller Mendelsohn, Class of 1962, a teacher and former student of Nancy Norton.

Recent winners of the Norton Prize

2023: Charlotte Berman

2022: Justin Martinez, Victor Trepanier, Harrison Zeiberg

2021: Amy Cummings, Jane Cummings

2020: Cassandra Smith, Laura Villeneuve

2019: Christine Evers, Maureen McCafferty

2018: Emma Beaulieu, Everett Bertrand, John Segal, James Wegener

2017: Hannah Lytle

2016:  Bridgit Burke-Smith, Kyle Duval, Emma Woodcock

2015:  Erika Prince

Nancy P. Norton
Nancy P. Norton


The Department considers the overall GPA and the GPA within the major of all senior majors when determining the winner of the Nancy P. Norton Prize in History and American Studies.