Wheaton College Norton, Massachusetts
Wheaton College
Yellow Wood Commission

Campus Life

A Home

"Two roads diverged in a yellow wood...
—Robert Frost

To the Wheaton Community:

Every great community has its defining moments, when its members shared a common vision and make a choice about their direction. For Wheaton, those moments have included 1912, when Wheaton Female Seminary sought a charter to become Wheaton College, 1988, when the Board of Trustees voted to become co-ed, and, perhaps, right now.

We are facing a significant challenge, as are almost all institutions of higher education, brought about by the increasingly integral role alcohol and other substances play in the lives of students, staff, and faculty. So we created the Yellow Wood Commission to chart a new courseYellow Wood is accepting Applications for the 2014-2015 academic year.

The Yellow Wood Commission is a task-force of students, faculty, and staff committed to leading Wheaton in a deep and thorough examination of alcohol and its related policies and practices; the ideas, beliefs, and behaviors of students and other stakeholders, while reviewing the latest research and best practices of colleges across the country. The goal: to inspire the cultural change needed to reduce alcohol-related harm and bolster academic success.

The Commission’s name comes from the well-known Robert Frost poem, “The Road Not Taken,” and implies that we are, as a community, at a critical juncture in our history. Very few colleges have taken the broad and thoughtful approach to excessive alcohol use that we intend. We seek profound systemic change that will send Wheaton in a direction few have traveled, and there are no shortcuts.

Ronald A. Crutcher, President
Linda Eisenmann, Provost
Lee Burdette Williams, Dean of Students

Comments are closed.