Wheaton College Norton, Massachusetts
Wheaton College
Office of the Provost


Subcommittees of Educational Policy Committee

Ad hoc subcommittees

The Educational Policy Committee will define a specific category of subcommittee as ad hoc subcommittees.These subcommittees are designed to undertake special initiatives, and will be limited in time (1-2 years) with clearly defined tasks that can be undertaken in the specified time frame. An ad hoc subcommittee should not continue beyond the end of the second year without having its status reviewed in the context of the overall structure of Educational Policy Committee’s subcommittees. Each ad hoc subcommittee chair will attend an Educational Policy Committee meeting during the academic year in order to provide oversight of their work.

  • Ad Hoc Subcommittee on Connections 
    The charge of the ad hoc Committee on Connections is to begin preliminary investigations and discussion of the goals and effectiveness of Connections as a major piece of the Wheaton Curriculum.

Continuing subcommittees

The six continuing subcommittees of the Educational Policy Committee are listed below. Click on any committee title below to read about each of the committee's charge and current memberships.

  • Curriculum Evaluation Subcommittee  
    The Curriculum Evaluation Subcommittee will work with the Provost’s Office, Educational Policy Committee, and the faculty to design a five-year curriculum evaluation plan. The Evaluation Sub-committee will review data reports on the curriculum, data on the Natural Science and Foreign Language requirements, and data from the National Survey of Student Engagement (NSSE) on Connections and Infusion. The inclusion of reports, following discussion of the data by faculty with interest and responsibility in the area, offers a model for keeping regular oversight of the curriculum. The Subcommittee will work with the Registrar and faculty to collect data. 2016-2017 Members: Karen McCormack (co-coordinator); Meg Kirkpatrick (co-coordinator); Josh Stenger; Hilary Gaudet; Polly Prewitt-Freilino (Director of Institutional Research), TBD (Registrar)
  • Student-Initiated Connections  
    The charge of the Connections Subcommittee is to consider and recommend the approval (or disapproval) of Student-Initiated Connection proposals. Additionally, the Subcommittee brings general issues of policy questions arising from review of the proposals to the Educational Policy Committee. 2016-17 Members: Kirk Anderson, Jonathan Brumberg-Kraus (spring 2017 only), Jason Goodman, Francoise Rosset, Janice Sklensky (outgoing chair).
  • First-Year Seminar Subcommittee  
    The charge of the FYS Subcommittee is to inspire a cohort of engaged, intellectually curious students who are prepared to assume responsibility for their education and their lives; to introduce high standards and expectations for college-level academic skills. Students will practice reading, oral communication, written communication and information fluency.
    Assist students in negotiating the transition to independent young adulthood. Students will be introduced to college-level success strategies, academic support and other resources on campus, and students will interact with a faculty advisor who is also the FYS instructor, a staff mentor, preceptors and student monitors.

  • Global Education Advisory Subcommittee  
    The charge of the Subcommittee is to review, discuss and advise on new initiatives sponsored by the Center for Global Education.Review new faculty-led study abroad programs. Advise the Dean of Center for Global Education on policies and procedure that impact study abroad. Present and discuss concerns of academic divisions regarding global education matters Educational Policy Committee will review all proposals for faculty led programs once they have been considered by Global Education Advisory Subcommittee for preliminary review and comment, including those in their first iteration.

  • Writing Subcommittee
    The charge of the Writing Subcommittee is to nurture the efforts and interest of faculty for increasing the writing skills of students and faculty.
    Towards that end: Initiate and manage events (workshops, presentations, etc.) and otherwise gather and disseminate relevant ideas and information to faculty and students.
    Further promote and support peer writing tutors as a key resource. Work with academic departments to steward the college-wide effort regarding the importance of writing skills and recent developments in the teaching and assessment of writing.

Comments are closed.