Wheaton College Norton, Massachusetts
Wheaton College

News & Events

Seven up

Board of Trustees approves faculty members for tenure

Seven members of the Wheaton faculty were awarded tenure by the Board of Trustees during the board's February meeting.

Shawn Christian

F. Fernandez de Alba

Peony Fhagen-Smith

Domingo Ledezma

Jake Mahaffy

Kim Miller

The board awarded tenure and promoted to the rank of associate professor: Shawn Christian, Francisco Fernandez de Alba, Peony Fhagen-Smith, Domingo Ledezma, Shawn McCafferty (not pictured) and Kim Miller. Trustees also awarded tenure to Associate Professor Jake Mahaffy.

"These colleagues represent the future strength of Wheaton College, and we are pleased to welcome them to the senior faculty," said Provost Linda Eisenmann. "They cover the full range of arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences, including genetics, African American literature, film-making, Latin American and Hispanic literature, South African activism and artistry, and cross-cultural developmental psychology.

"Their work and their capacity to reach beyond departmental boundaries displays the best cross-disciplinary efforts of Wheaton College," she added.

The Wheaton faculty comprises a talented group of 150 teachers and scholars, encompassing the range of the liberal arts. More than three quarters of the faculty have earned awards for their teaching and research. Nearly 70 percent have published scholarly articles or books in the past five years; more than 500 exhibitions and performances have been produced by arts faculty members.

Through a commitment to inclusive excellence, the Wheaton faculty has grown substantially more diverse over the past decade. Professors of color now account for 20 percent of the college's faculty; women and men are equally represented as well, reflecting the college's longstanding commitment to gender balance.